The Woolworth Saturday Girls by Elaine Everest #BookReview #BookstagramBlogTourSupport #PanMacmillan #EDPR #5*

The Woolworths Saturday Girls is the seventh instalment in Elaine Everest’s much-loved Woolworths series.

1950. The Second World War is over and life has moved on for the Woolworth girls, Sarah, Maisie and Freda.

In a new world the Woolworth women have high expectations of their daughters, wanting them to seize opportunities they didn’t have themselves. Ready to take on Saturday jobs at Woolworths, budding friends Bessie, Claudette, Clementine and Dorothy are faced with unforeseeable challenges as the real world comes into focus. Their bond can only be strengthened as they overcome the darkest times. Perhaps their lives are not as clear-cut as their mothers wished them to be . . .

When Bessie finds love in the wrong crowd and falls pregnant, the image of her future and ambitions become skewed and she relies on the Saturday girls to help her see her problems through – but how can they find a home for the baby when it arrives? With wild imaginations, it is up to the Woolworth girls, new and old, to save the day and their futures.

Can the Woolworth girls achieve their dreams in time for their futures to begin?

The Woolworth Girls series

  1. The Woolworths Girls

1.5 Carols at Woolworths

2. Christmas at Woolworths

3. Wartime at Woolworths

4. A Gift from Woolworths

5. Wedding Bells for Woolworths

6. A Mother Forever

7. The Woolworths Saturday Girls

Fantastic Friendships!

I’m delighted to share my review of The Woolworths Saturday Girls in support of the current bookstagram tour.

It’s now 1950, and the original Saturday Girls at Woolworths have grown up; Sarah, Frieda and Maisie now have a whole new set of responsibilities but none of them have forgotten their first foray into the world of work and how it feels. The new breed of Saturday girls, Bessie, Claudette, Clementine and Dorothy have no idea what’s in front of them and how fast they will need to grow up . . .

I’ve enjoyed every book I’ve read by Elaine Everest and, having been unable to fit in the first in this series I’ve been holding off to try and read them in order but have finally succumbed with this one – I just couldn’t resist! I very quickly felt at home with the characters – it’s obvious their friendships have held over the years. With the addition of family members and more than a few problems along the way, this is a gripping read full of excitement with several different stories all beautifully interwoven. Such a fantastic read and one I’m very happy to recommend it. 5*.

My thanks to Courtney Jefferies of EDPR for alerting me to this tour and inviting me to support it as well as supplying my copy of the novel; this is – as always – my honest, original and unbiased review.

Tags: historical women’s saga

Author Details

Elaine Everest is the author of bestselling historical sagas including The Woolworths Girls, The Butlins Girls, Christmas at Woolworths and The Teashop Girls. She was born and raised in North-West Kent, where her much-loved Woolworths series is set, and worked as a Woolworths Saturday Girl herself in the late 1960s/early 1970s.

Elaine has been a freelance writer for 25 years and has written over 100 short stories and serials for the women’s magazine market. She is also the author of a number of popular non-fiction books for dog owners.

When she isn’t writing, Elaine runs The Write Place creative writing school in Hextable, Kent. She now lives in
Swanley with her husband, Michael and their Polish Lowland Sheepdog, Henry.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s