The Missing Husband by Natasha Boydell #BookReview #BloodhoundBooks #5*

Discover a totally gripping new psychological thriller today.

How would you cope if your husband disappeared?

Kate and Pete have been the perfect couple ever since they were teenagers. Fifteen years later they have two young daughters, live in a beautiful London townhouse and seem like they have it all. But one day, Pete leaves for work and never comes home. 

In a note Kate discovers, he confesses that he’s been unhappy for a long time and that he’s met someone else.

Distraught, Kate later learns that he has left everything, including his mobile phone, behind and sets out to learn the truth about her husband’s disappearance. 

But is she prepared for what she will learn?

When nothing is as it seems, who can you trust?

The Missing Husband is a gripping psychological thriller full of twists and turns which will keep you guessing until the very end. It’s the perfect read for readers of domestic noir, as well as for fans of authors like Louise Jensen, B A Paris and S.E. Lynes.

A Stunning, Sparkling Novel!

Love, love, LOVE this one so much, I think everyone should read it!!

Kate and Pete are one of those sickeningly perfect couples we all know; been together forever, have two wonderful children and are still very much in love and living in a beautifully renovated home. Then, suddenly, Kate sees Pete off to work one morning and he never returns home. Kate is absolutely distraught and needs answers. But who can she trust?

I fell into this book, consuming everything about Kate and Pete’s relationship and, as a lot of the story is told retrospectively, my sympathies swung from one to the other and back again quite regularly. There is a lot to absorb and I soaked it all up like a sponge, round each twist and turn finding myself completely engrossed in the lives of this couple, both together and apart. This is beautifully and cleverly created, different to any other book I’ve read; expertly written – especially for a debut – I was hooked from the first word right up until the very last and it’s one of those novels which has played at the back of my mind ever since. I know the author has another book in the pipeline and I can’t wait! A stunning read, absolutely earning my highest recommendation and all five sparkling stars.

My thanks to the publisher for my copy; this is – as always – my honest, original and unbiased review.

Tags: psychological thriller

Author Details

I’ve wanted to be a writer since I was old enough to hold a pencil. Over time my stories have evolved from princesses and unicorns to missing people and betrayal.​

After gaining an MA in print journalism at The University of Sheffield, I cut my teeth as a reporter at a regional newspaper before moving into national media, specialising in women’s interest. My work has been published in a number of titles, including The Sun, Mirror, Express, Mail on Sunday, Bella, Best, Woman, That’s Life and Fabulous. I later moved across to communications in the charity and education sectors.

At the end of 2019, I made it my New Year’s Resolution to finish my first novel within a year. The first draft was complete in June and a few months later I signed a publishing deal with Bloodhound Books. My second novel followed in 2021 and my third is a work in progress! You can read more about my journey on my blog.​

I live in north London with my husband, our two young daughters and our Blue Cross rescue cats. When I’m not writing, I can usually be found in a playground or drinking coffee.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s