The Railway Girls in Love by Maisie Thomas #BookReview #RailwayGirls3 #BlogTour #TheRailwayGirlsinLove #ArrowPublishing #4*

The brand new Railway Girls novel set in Manchester during WWII. Perfect for fans of Nancy Revell, Daisy Styles and Margaret Dickinson.

Love is in the air, and together the railway girls can overcome even the hardest of times.

Mabel has finally put the past behind her, and her relationship with the dashing Harry is stronger than ever. That is, until an old flame shows up, leaving Mabel questioning her future.

Meanwhile Joan has made amends with Bob – if only she could do the same with Gran. And there’s still that family mystery she wants answer to, isn’t there?

As a mother and grandmother, Dot Green has always put her family first. Her job as a parcels porter has brought new purpose to her life, so is it finally time to start following her heart . . .

Life as a railway girl is busy but as war rages on and air raids disrupt daily life, the women realise they need each other more than ever, especially when there might be wedding bells on the horizon.

The Railway Girls Series

  • Book 1 – The Railway Girls
  • Book 2 – The Secrets of The Railway Girls
  • Book 3 – The Railway Girls in Love
  • Book 4 – Christmas with The Railway Girls – coming November 2021

Enlightening & Entertaining!

My first foray into this series, and a book I really enjoyed!

Mabel is putting the past behind her and and her romance with Harry is thriving – at least, until an old flame makes an appearance and unsettles her. Joan and Bob’s relationship is once again on a firm footing – but her estrangement from Gran continues. Dot has always put her family first, but now she has a full-time job her horizons are expanding; is it finally time for her to look after her own needs?

I could have sworn that I had read others in this series, but sadly not. However, I had no problems in picking up the story with this third book which makes an excellent stand-alone read. I’m pleased that the details of the previous two aren’t repeated – only the necessary details come out as the story progresses. I’ve never encountered a book about work on the railways during WWII before, and this was enlightening and entertaining. Lots of information I wasn’t aware of, all woven into a gripping tale. In particular, the friendships which pulled women together on the home front are heavily featured, and the characters – from all walks of life – are beautifully developed. Experienced writing always shines through and this is a great read and one I’m happy to recommend and give four stars.

My thanks to the publisher for my copy and to Georgia Williamson for my spot on this tour; this is – as always – my honest, original and unbiased review.

Tags: women’s historical saga, WWII

Author Details

Maisie Thomas was born and brought up in Manchester, which provides the location for her Railway Girls novels.

She loves writing stories with strong female characters, set in times when women needed determination and vision to make their mark. The Railway Girls series is inspired by her great aunt Jessie, who worked as a railway clerk during the First World War. 

Maisie now lives on the beautiful North Wales coast with her railway enthusiast husband, Kevin, and their two rescue cats. They often enjoy holidays chugging up and down the UK’s heritage steam railways.

  • Twitter: @MaisieThomas99

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s