Art & Soul by Claire Huston #BookReview #DebutNovel #GoldcrestBooks #4.5*

There’s no problem Becky Watson can’t fix. Except her own love life…

Struggling single mother Becky Watson longs to revive her career as a life-fixer, working miracles to solve her clients’ problems, no matter how big or small. Since the birth of her two-year-old son she has been stuck preventing wedding fiascos for the richest and rudest residents of the Comptons, a charming, leafy area of southern England known for its artistic heritage.

So when semi-reclusive local artist Charlie Handren reluctantly hires Becky to fix his six-year creative slump, she’s delighted to set him up with a come-back exhibition and Rachel Stone, the woman of his dreams.

Though they get off to a rocky start, Becky and Charlie soon become close. But as the beautiful Rachel becomes Charlie’s muse, Becky is forced to wonder: will giving Charlie everything he wants mean giving up her own happily ever after?

A heart-warming romance about second chances perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Phillipa Ashley and Cathy Kelly.

A Skilfully Created Debut!

Aaah, such a wonderful, heartwarming read this is, and especially good for a first novel!

Becky Watson fixes problems – and she’s good at it. However, since the birth of her son, she has found herself accepting jobs she wouldn’t normally have carried out, just to keep the wolf from the door. Then she is hired to sort out local artist Charlie Hedren whose talents have taken a back seat for the last six years. With her plans in place to kick start both his professional and personal life, she hasn’t taken into account that maintaining a proper distance between herself and her client may not be that simple . . .

This is a lovely novel; well thought-out, beautifully written and full of angst, joy and with some very amusing scenes. The creative skill far exceeds what I would expect from a debut novelist, and the ending is by no means a foregone conclusion, keeping the reader guessing all the way through. I love the injection of fun here and there, I always enjoy a laugh or two! The characterisation is excellent, and I loved all their traits. A great read, one I would recommend and am happy to give 4.5*.

My thanks to the author for my copy of her novel; this is – as always – my honest, original and unbiased review.

Tags: contemporary romance

Author Bio

Claire Huston lives in Warwickshire with her husband and two children. Art and Soul is her first novel.

A keen amateur baker, she enjoys making cakes, biscuits and brownies almost as much as eating them. You can find recipes for all the cakes mentioned in Art and Soul at clairehuston.co.uk along with over 100 other recipes. This is also where she talks about and reviews books.

Social Media

Website: https://clairehuston.co.uk/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ClaraVal

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/clairehustonauthor

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/clairehuston_author

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/19999529.Claire_Huston

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.co.uk/claire_huston

2 thoughts on “Art & Soul by Claire Huston #BookReview #DebutNovel #GoldcrestBooks #4.5*

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s