The Lending Library by Aliza Fogelson #BookReview #LakeUnionPublishing #KindleFirstReads #4*

 

012. Hrt 175 centred

 

When the Chatsworth library closes indefinitely, Dodie Fairisle loses her sanctuary.

How is a small-town art teacher supposed to cope without the never-ending life advice and enjoyment that books give her? Well, when she’s as resourceful and generous as Dodie, she turns her sunroom into her very own little lending library.

At first just a hobby, this lit lovers’ haven opens up her world in incredible ways. She knows books are powerful, and soon enough they help her forge friendships between her zany neighbors—and attract an exciting new romance.

But when the chance to adopt an orphaned child brings Dodie’s secret dream of motherhood within reach, everything else suddenly seems less important.

Finding herself at a crossroads, Dodie must figure out what it means to live a full, happy life. If only there were a book that could tell her what to do…

 

For fans of Jane Green and Loretta Nyhan, a heartwarming debut novel about a daydreamer who gives her town, and herself, an amazing gift: a lending library in her sunroom.

 

01. Hrt 125 centred

 

Cover

 

01. Hrt 125 centred

 

A Gentle, Relaxing Read!    stars 4

 

This is exactly what I expected it to be: a gentle, relaxing read!

Dodie (or Do, as she is known) Fairisle is a bibliophile. Not only does she enjoy reading books but she takes pleasure in everything about them. So when the Chatsworth Library is closing indefinitely it is a huge disaster in her life. As this art teacher struggles to think of life without it, she comes up with the idea of setting up her own lending library. As it comes to fruition, she finds love too and so many other things too . . . but being everything she wants to everyone else impacts upon her own life. Can she fulfil all her other dreams too?

I deliberately kept this as a holiday read so I would have a simpler book which would tax every brain cell I possess and this fitted the bill perfectly. Getting to know Do was a pleasure and finding out all about her friends and family a bonus. With the introduction of a cute baby, this has a definite feel-good vibe. But it’s not all sunshine and flowers and she has to make some very hard decisions – and she’s not the only one. Well written and easily flowing, I sailed through this novel and liked how all the issues it raised were all dealt with and we came round almost full circle. With a multitude of recommendations given as part of the story, book lovers may well pick up some tips for their reading list! A rather nice read which I enjoyed – perfect for my two week break and one I happily give four stars.

I downloaded this as a Kindle First Reads, part of my Amazon Prime package; this is – as always – my honest, original and unbiased review.

 

Tags: family life, romance
  • Format: ebook, paperback, audiobook, audio cd
  • Size: 295 pages
  • Publisher: Lake Union
  • Publication Date: 1 July 2020
  • Links: Goodreads
  •             Waterstones
  •             amazon

 

01. Hrt 125 centred

 

Author Bio

 

Aliza Fogelson

Before becoming a freelance writer and editor, I was a senior editor at Clarkson Potter, the illustrated lifestyle books imprint of Penguin Random House. I began my publishing career at Regan Books / Harper Collins, where I edited a wide range of bestselling non-fiction and fiction authors. Previously I spent a year studying French literature at the Sorbonne Nouvelle in Paris after graduating from Princeton University with a degree in Comparative Literature and Creative Writing. While there, I was awarded the Creative Writing Sophomore Award.

My first published work was my third-grade short story “Baby Cow’s Adventure”. My debut novel, The Lending Library, is now available in ebook through June’s Amazon First Reads, and will officially publish on 01 July 2020.

Social Media

Website: alizafogelson.com

Twitter: @alizafogelson

Instagram: @alizafogelson

 

01. Hrt 125 centred

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s