Betray Her by Caroline England #BookReview #Piatkus #5*

 

012. Hrt 175 centred

 

1

 

01. Hrt 125 centred

 

Best friends forever.

That’s the pact you made.

You’d do anything for her.

And you have.

She’s always had it all.

If you could take it for yourself . . . would you?

 

Lust, secrets and revenge are at the heart of this irresistibly twisted thriller by the bestselling author of My Husband’s Lies. Perfect for fans of Claire McGowan’s The Other Wife and Adele Parks’s Lies Lies Lies.

 

01. Hrt 125 centred

 

Cover

 

01. Hrt 125 centred

 

Cleverly Plotted, Beautifully Written!      stars 5

 

I have previously read several of Caroline England’s novels, but this latest one takes her writing to a higher level entirely. An awesome read!

This is the story of the friendship between Kate and Jo; they first met at eight years old when they were both sent to boarding school. The tale goes from then to the present day and we slowly learn how deep their relationship is, and the history they share together. We make the acquaintance of their family and friends and even find out their innermost secrets – and, boy, are they worth learning!

This is a skilfully created novel, drawing the reader into a very interesting and spellbinding tale from the very beginning – I could barely manage to set it aside when my eyes were drooping in bed! Although the layers are peeled back slowly, there is always something going on to keep focus. With a whopping big surprise at the end of the book, it pays to keep your wits about you – the clues are there and I picked up on one quite late on and was delighted to be proved right! It is a glorious tale from first to last, and definitely propels this author higher in my estimation (and I already admired her previous work immensely). So very cleverly plotted as well as beautifully written, it is a very entertaining and satisfying read with everything tied up nice and neatly by the final words. Just as I like it, and there is no doubt in my mind that this one fully earns five sparkling, dancing stars!

Please note that I have published this review previously. My thanks to the publisher for asking me to repeat this on the occasion of the publication of the paperback. This is – as always – my honest, original and unbiased review.

 

Tags: psychological thriller
  • Format: ebook, paperback, audio
  • Size: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Piatkus
  • Publication Date: ebook 14 March 2019, paperback 16 July 2020
  • Purchase Links: Goodreads
  •                                 Google Play
  •                                 Kobo
  •                                 W. H. Smith
  •                                 Waterstones
  •                                 amazon

 

01. Hrt 125 centred

 

 

2

 

01. Hrt 125 centred

 

Author Bio

 

Caro Land

 

Born in Sheffield, Caroline studied Law at the University of Manchester and stayed over the border. Caroline was a divorce and professional indemnity lawyer. She turned to writing when she deserted the law to bring up her three lovely daughters. Caroline has had short stories and poems published in a variety of literary publications and anthologies.

Caroline writes domestic psychological thrillers. Her debut novel, Beneath the Skin, known also as The Wife’s Secret in eBook, was published by Avon Harper Collins in October 2017. Her second novel, My Husband’s Lies, followed in May 2018 and became a Kindle top ten bestseller. Her latest novel, Betray Her, published by Piatkus of Little, Brown Book Group, is now available as an eBook, audiobook and paperback.

Caroline has two dark, twisty short story collections available on Amazon, both in eBook and paperback, Watching Horsepats Feed the Roses and Hanged by the Neck.

Caroline also writes under the pen name Caro Land. Her first Natalie Bach legal suspense, Convictions, was published by Bloodhound Books in January 2020. The follow up, Confessions, was published in June 2020.

 

Social Media

Twitter: @CazEngland

Facebook: @CazEngland1

 

01. Hrt 125 centred

 

3

 

01. Hrt 125 centred

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Betray Her by Caroline England #BookReview #Piatkus #5*

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s