Why She Ran #BookReview #BlogTour #Bookouture #BOTBS

Written by Geraldine Hogan

 

150 GJR hrt

 

Blog Tour - Why She Ran

 

100 GJR hrt

 

‘Rachel. They must have made a mistake. A mother would know?’ She let her words pour into the emptiness of the kitchen. She began to shiver. ‘I can’t feel anything,’ she said softly and rocked back and forth, as if she was a huge child, seeking solace in the simple gesture.

When young, pretty nurse Rachel McDermott is found murdered in the harsh lights of the hospital kitchen where she works, her mother can’t accept the news, and the small Irish town of Corbally reels in disbelief. Rushing to the scene, Detective Iris Locke vows to find the sick killer, whatever it takes.

The last person to see Rachel alive was her close friend, sixteen-year-old Eleanor Marshall, a troubled teenager, estranged from her family. Eleanor was spotted fleeing the kitchen where Rachel’s body was found and becomes the main suspect. Iris has a search party combing the endless woods near the Comeragh mountains where they believe she is hiding. But Iris is consumed with worry for the vulnerable girl and can’t shake a prickly disquiet that Eleanor shouldn’t be a suspect.

Eleanor’s sister agrees but a day later, when she is found dead in the area Eleanor is hiding, things don’t look good for the runaway teen. Iris can’t see Eleanor, who still sleeps with her childhood teddy bear, as someone who would kill her little sister and her best friend, but all the evidence seems to point that way.

Sleep-deprived and desperate to find the truth, Iris takes a closer look into Rachel’s background and discovers that she was keeping strange, shadowy company the night before she died.

Convinced that Eleanor is in terrible danger, Iris sets out to find her, in the icy-cold woods, alone. But what if somebody else makes their way through the darkness and reaches Iris and Eleanor first?

This gripping mystery thriller is perfect for fans of Carol Wyer, Robert Dugoni and LJ Ross.  

 

Detective Iris Locke series

Book 1 – Her Sister’s Bones

 

100 GJR hrt

 

large

 

100 GJR hrt

 

A Cracking Thriller!      Stars 5

 

Shaping up to be a series you can really get into, this is a superb second novel following Garda officer Iris Locke.

When a young woman is found murdered in her place of work, Iris gets the call to attend the scene. Rachel McDermott was a nurse and her young charge is missing – does that mean she’s the murderer? With the promotion of her old Murder Team boss, Iris finds herself put in charge of the latest case, and pairs up with the seasoned Slattery at her side as she investigates and oversees the whole operation.

What a stunning read! With lots of information forthcoming and a plethora of twists and turns, I think I suspected everyone except the true murderer – and that came as a shock! I would urge readers new to this author to begin with the first in series and it will clarify a few things and, undoubtedly, enhance the reading experience. I really can’t find fault – even if I wanted to – and I relished this second book, feeling I already knew the characters but never imagining for a moment where this one was leading. An absolutely cracking thriller, a total pleasure to read and it definitely got my blood pumping! Geraldine Hogan, yet again, earns a full five glowing stars and I’m already anticipating where the next one will take me!

My thanks to publisher Bookouture for my copy via NetGalley, and to Sarah Hardy of Book on the Bright Side Publicity for including me in this tour. All opinions are both completely honest and entirely my own.

 

Tags: crime thriller, police procedural
  • Format: ebook, paperback, audio
  • Size: 295 pages
  • Publisher: Bookouture
  • Publication Date: 19 December 2019
  • Purchase Links: Google Play
  •                                 Barnes & Noble
  •                                 iBooks
  •                                 Kobo
  •                                 amazon

 

100 GJR hrt

 

Author Bio

 

81pcATwVdDL._US230_Geraldine Hogan was born in Ireland. She gained an Honors Degree in English Literature and Psychology from Dublin City University and a Postgraduate Degree in Training and Management from University College, Galway. She is an Irish award-winning and bestselling author of four contemporary fiction novels under the pen name Faith Hogan.
HER SISTER’S BONES is her first crime novel, her second WHY SHE RAN is due out in December 2019.
She is currently working on her next novel. She lives in the west of Ireland with her husband, four children and a very busy Labrador named Penny. She’s a writer, reader, enthusiastic dog walker and reluctant jogger – except of course when it is raining!
Social Media

Twitter @gerhogan

Instagram: @faithhoganauthor

 

100 GJR hrt

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s