A Litter of Bones #BookReview #BlogTour #ZertexCrime #BookOnTheBrightSide

Written by J. D. Kirk

 

150 GJR hrt

 

BLOG TOUR (6)

 

100 GJR hrt

 

Was the biggest case of his career the worst mistake he ever made?

Ten years ago, DCI Jack Logan stopped the serial child-killer dubbed ‘Mister Whisper,’ earning himself a commendation, a drinking problem, and a broken marriage in the process.

Now, he spends his days working in Glasgow’s Major Investigations Team, and his nights reliving the horrors of what he saw.

And what he did.

When another child disappears a hundred miles north in the Highlands, Jack is sent to lead the investigation and bring the boy home.

But as similarities between the two cases grow, could it be that Jack caught the wrong man all those years ago?

And, if so, is the real Mister Whisper about to claim his fourth victim?

A Litter of Bones is the explosive debut crime thriller novel from JD Kirk, an exciting new voice in Scottish crime fiction. Perfect for fans of L.J. Ross, Ian Rankin, Chris Brookmyre, and Stuart Macbride.

 

100 GJR hrt

 

alitterofbones_cover2

 

100 GJR hrt

 

Gripping & Exciting – With Humour!    Stars 5

 

This is one series I HAVE to follow – I’ve already downloaded books 2 & 3 since beginning this one – yes, it really  is THAT exciting to read!

Jack Logan is the Detective Chief Inspector in charge of MIT in Glasgow – so he’s no soft touch. When a young boy disappears and there are similarities – several of them – to a case which Jack solved years before, he finds himself on the way to Fort William to get to the bottom of things and prove that no errors were made in the past .. or were there?

This is a cracking thriller; smartly structured to pull the reader in from the very beginning – it didn’t take many pages before I was hooked! The crime details are gripping although a little harrowing I’m happy that the author didn’t dwell too long on that part. There is a strong link to the historic crimes and I really wasn’t sure how it was going to go, so found my reading speed kicking up a gear. Several of the Scottish locations are familiar to me but the cherry on top is the humour – Jack Logan is definitely one of the ‘Glesga polis’, an unconscious comedian who had me shaking with laughter throughout the novel. And yes, my OH did suffer whilst he had nodded off and I was reading in bed – but he’s getting used to it! I really didn’t have time to ponder on the whys and wherefores, but even if I had I don’t think I’d have worked it all out. The ending, whilst awesome, really took me by surprise and made me realise what a cleverly plotted book this is. A fantastic beginning to what promises to be a fabulous series and one I can barely wait to continue and, as such, is most definitely a five star read!

My thanks to Book On the Bright Side both for forwarding my copy and giving me this spot on the first day of this Blog Tour. As always, this is my honest, original and unbiased review.

 

Tags: Scottish crime thriller
  • Format: ebook, paperback, audio
  • Size: 286 pages
  • Publisher: Zertex Crime
  • Publication Date: 1 May 2019
  • Purchase Links: amazon

 

100 GJR hrt

 

Author Bio

 

JD Kirk lives in the wilds of Scotland, where he spends his days making stuff up and writing it down. He lives with his wife, two children, one dog, and – if his daughter has anything to do with it – a cat in the very near future.

Having been writing in various genres for over a decade, JD turned his attention to crime fiction in May 2019, and hasn’t looked back. A Litter of Bones is his first crime novel, and the first of his hundred-plus books that his wife could bring herself to read.

 

Social Media

 

Website: http://www.jdkirk.com

Twitter: www.twitter.com/jdkirkbooks

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jdkirkbooks/

Goodreads Author Page: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/19106689.JD_Kirk

 

100 GJR hrt

 

One thought on “A Litter of Bones #BookReview #BlogTour #ZertexCrime #BookOnTheBrightSide

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s