Victory for the East End Angels #BookReview #BlogTour #Sphere #RachelsRandomResources

Written by Rosie Hendry

 

150 GJR hrt

 

Victory for the East End Angels

 

100 GJR hrt

 

The war is almost over – and it’s up to the East End Angels to keep the home fires burning!

Frankie‘s fiance, a doctor, is away looking after the troops in Europe – will he return safely home?

Winnie has a happy secret – but can she carry on at Station 75 when she’s going to have a baby?

Bella is intrigued by her new friend, a Polish airman.

As the war ends and victory is in sight, what next for the girls of Station 75?

A gorgeously uplifting saga for fans of Ellie Dean and Donna Douglas

 

100 GJR hrt

 

9780751575699.jpg

 

100 GJR hrt

 

A Fitting End to a Fabulous Series!    Stars 5

 

Such a great ending to what has been a fabulous series!

As World War II enters it’s final year, there are still bombs falling, wounded to be rescued, and loved ones overseas to fret about. Frankie worries about her fiance, and hopes that, as a doctor, he is still safe. Winnie, now wed to Mac, is afraid that he’s in the path of more danger than ever, despite his pacifist views, whilst Bella still hasn’t moved on since the death of James. However, their work continues as usual at Station 75; add in volunteering war work and queuing for food and their days are full – and even rewarding. They are all just wanting peace to be declared and their loved ones to be safe, but in the meantime there are the usual domestic troubles to deal with along the way.

This is a fitting end to what has been a remarkable series. Well researched and beautifully written, it portrays British life during wartime in a realistic manner showing the importance of friendship and teamwork. Life was hard, no doubt about it but everyone pulled together and supported each other in bleak times to get through. The characters all have troubles in their lives as well as the potential for wonderful futures and author Rosie Hendry spins a wonderful yarn, encompassing the happiness and misery of the war years. It’s no secret that I love stories which are properly finished off, and this one leaves no stone unturned. Such fabulous reads! This is a wartime series to savour and enjoy, and the finale is absolutely worth a full five stars.

My thanks to the publisher for my copy and to Rachel’s Random Resources for my spot in this tour. As always, all opinions are honest and entirely my own.

 

Tags: romance, women’s fiction WWII
  • Format: ebook, paperback, audio
  • Size: 432 pages
  • Publisher: Sphere
  • Publication Date: 25 July 2019
  • Purchase Links: Google Play
  •                                 Kobo
  •                                 W. H. Smith
  •                                 Waterstones
  •                                 amazon uk
  •                                 amazon us

 

100 GJR hrt

 

Victory For The East End Angels Full Tour Banner.jpg

 

100 GJR hrt

 

Author Bio

 

author photo.jpg

 

Rosie Hendry lives by the sea in Norfolk with her husband, two children, chickens and a snake. She’s worked in a variety of jobs from fruit picking, waitressing, teaching and as a research scientist but has always loving reading and writing. Starting off writing short stories for women’s magazines, her stories have gradually become longer as her children have grown bigger.

Listening to her father’s tales of life during the Second World War sparked Rosie’s interest in this period and she’s especially intrigued by how women’s lives changed during the war years. She loves researching further, searching out gems of real-life events which inspire her writing.

When she’s not working, Rosie enjoys walking along the beach, reading and is grateful for the fact that her husband is a much better cook than her.

 

Social Media

Website: http://www.rosiehendry.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/hendry_rosie

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RosieHendrybooks/

 

100 GJR hrt

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s