The Killing Code by J. D. Kirk #BookReview #DCILogan3 #ZertexCrime #KindleUnlimited #5*

How do you catch a killer who doesn’t exist?

After twenty years on the force, Detective Chief Inspector Jack Logan thinks he has seen it all.

He is wrong.

When a nurse is murdered on her way home from nightshift, Jack and his team go on the hunt for her killer.

As more victims are uncovered, Jack finds himself tracking a murderer afflicted by a unique psychosis – one that leaves him free to maim and kill without a shred of guilt or remorse.

Facing a new type of killer in an unfamiliar city, DCI Jack Logan is about to be pushed to his limits by an enemy he cannot hope to understand.

The Killing Code is the third DCI Jack Logan crime thriller, and perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, Chris Brookmyre, and LJ Ross.

DCI Logan series

  1. A Litter of Bones
  2. Thicker Than Water
  3. The Killing Code
  4. Blood and Treachery
  5. The Last Bloody Straw
  6. A Whisper of Sorrows
  7. The Big Man Upstairs
  8. A Death Most Monumental
  9. A Snowball’s Chance in Hell
  10. Ahead of the Game
  11. An Isolated Incident
  12. Colder Than the Grave
  13. Come Hell or High Water
  14. City of Scars
  15. Here Lie the Dead

Gritty & Gripping!

Another tremendously gripping book in this exciting series!

When a nurse is found in the hospital grounds, brutally murdered on her way home from her shift, Jack Logan is charged with finding her murderer – but this case is very different. The perpetrator has no conscience at all, and murders freely, and in the most horrific manner. As the squad dig in and do what they’re best at, can they stop the culprit before the body toll rises?

Having enjoyed the third book so much, I couldn’t resist slipping this one into this month’s reads. I do like Jack Logan; he comes across as good solid ‘polis’ – one who rose through the ranks and is no stranger to standing his ground. In this fourth novel, we not only follow the crime but see a bit more of Jack off duty and I feel as if I know him just a tad better than I did. One things for sure – he doesn’t suffer fools gladly! I would never have guessed who the murderer was this time round and was gripped all the way through. Well written and imaginative, this is definitely worth all five stars, along with my recommendation.

I downloaded the ebook with Kindle Unlimited; this is – as always – my honest, original and unbiased review.

Tags: crime thriller in a new tab)

Author Details

JD Kirk is a Scottish crime fiction author with a very big secret – he doesn’t exist. Instead, JD is the pen-name of award-winning former children’s author Barry Hutchison, who first turned his hand to tartan noir in early 2019 with the publication of his first DCI Jack Logan novel, A Litter of Bones.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s