Kidnap by Jane Adams #BookReview #Merrow&Clarke2 #JoffeBooks #4.5*

A BRAND-NEW MYSTERY FROM A BESTSELLING AUTHOR.

The man climbs a ladder, slides a gloved finger through the slightly open window and enters the room.

wraps 14-month-old Joshua Banks in his blanket and takes him from his cot. In his place he leaves a printed note.

Do not call the police. You will receive details for a bank transfer in due course. Your child will be well cared for and be returned unharmed provided you do exactly as you are told. Call the police and we will kill him. If you are in any doubt as to the seriousness of this, then call this number.

At 2 a.m. Joshua’s mother gets up to go to the toilet and sees her son is gone. She calls the phone number. It’s for another family whose child was also taken.

Detectives Toby Clarke and Petra Merrow are in a race against time to get Joshua back.

Because if they don’t find him soon, he won’t be the last child to go missing.

An electrifying crime mystery full of twists and turns perfect for fans of C.L. Taylor, D.E. White, Claire McGowan, Rachel Abbott, Helen H. Durrant, Patricia Gibney, Karin Slaughter, Lynda La Plante and Angela Marsons.

A Cleverly Plotted Tale!

I’m sorry I missed the first novel, but have a feeling I’ll be sticking with the rest of the series.

In the middle of the night, a young child is stolen from his cot. When his mother looks in to check on him a couple of hours later, she finds only a note telling her not to contact the police, and giving her a number to call. When she does, she finds herself speaking to another family whose baby was taken and they got them safely returned. When Toby Clarke and Petra Merrow get involved it’s with the knowledge that they have to solve this one – and quickly, before more children are abducted.

Having read this author’s work before, I was pleased to get the chance to read and review this one and soon picked up on what the first novel had been about. There is a lot going on in this one; the crime side of it isn’t straightforward, and it takes both detectives’ best work to get to the bottom of things. I look forward to finding out where these two go next. This is a well-crafted, cleverly plotted story and one I really enjoyed. I have high hopes for this series. 4.5*.

My thanks to the publisher for my copy; this is – as always – my honest, original and unbiased review.

Tags: crime mystery

Author Details

Jane Adams is the author of more than thirty published crime novels. Jane is constantly amazed at where life
has taken her. Writing had never been on her ‘possible careers’ list, but she says once stories take root in your
brain, they just have to be told – and she feels very fortunate that people want to read them.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s