Death by the Thames by Gretta Mulrooney #BookReview #TyroneSwiftDetective9 #JoffeBooks #5*

Looking for your next unputdownable mystery? Meet Detective Tyrone Swift. He takes the cases that the police have given up on.

One dead fiancé.
One dead runaway.
One woman desperate for answers.

Respectable, dull Sam Goddard is found dead in the River Thames the evening before his wedding, with a fifteen-year-old girl. They were both sedated. Sam left a note: So sorry to do this to you . . .

The investigation concludes they must have been in a relationship and taken their own lives. As far as the police are concerned, it’s case closed.

But Sam’s bride-to-be Toni refuses to believe this.

Desperate to uncover the truth, she turns to Detective Tyrone Swift for answers.

But is she prepared for the killer secrets he’s about to unearth?

Death by the Thames is a seamlessly crafted, twisty crime thriller that will have you gripped from start to pulsating finish.

Perfect for fans of Joy Ellis, Tana French, Val McDermid, Robert Galbraith, Ann Cleeves, Jane Adams or Elly Griffiths.

THE DETECTIVE
Tyrone Swift is an ex-police detective who now works privately. He’s survived a stabbing and his fiancée running off with another man. Swift’s personal life is complicated, to say the least.

THE TYRONE SWIFT DETECTIVE SERIES

  1. The Lady Vanished
  2. Blood Secrets
  3. Two Lovers, Six Deaths
  4. Watching You
  5. Low Lake
  6. Your Last Lie
  7. Her Lost Sister
  8. Murder in Pembrokeshire
  9. Death by the Thames

A Complex, Intricate Mystery!

How could I have missed Tyrone Swift? I do like this detective!

Toni has found her one and only and they are about to get married. In fact, she’s in her wedding finery when the police arrive to tell her Sam is dead, a suspected suicide. However, Sam wasn’t on his own; he was found alongside a fifteen year old girl and, as far as the police are concerned, it’s case closed. Toni is sure that Sam wasn’t playing around – especially with a minor – and she has a burning need to know the truth, which is why she contacts Tyrone Swift.

This is the first time I’ve encountered this detective, and he’s like a dog with a bone – he just doesn’t let go. Normally I read of crime thrillers where the detectives are police, but Swift works privately with no such limitations. There are lots of details in this novel, both about the case and about the people involved and it all adds up to a rollicking good read. This is a complex, intricate mystery and one which had me hooked right to the bitter end. A fine plot, excellent characters and, as always with this author, very well written. A very satisfying novel and one which I’m both happy to recommend and give 5*.

My thanks to the publisher for my copy; this is – as always – my honest, original and unbiased review.

Tags: crime mystery

Author Details

Gretta Mulrooney was born in London of Irish parents and did an English degree in Derry. She has been published for over twenty-five years: children’s books, short stories, critically acclaimed literary fiction and crime
fiction. She has also written for the BBC and Radio Four.

“I started writing in my thirties, penning books for children and teenagers.”

“Psychopaths and serial killers don’t interest me. I prefer domestic murders involving people driven to breaking point.”

“A number of my novels have female killers and protagonists. I reckon that women can be more subtle in planning to kill.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s