The Perfect Daughter by Susanna Beard #BookReview #JoffeBooks #5*

A GRIPPING NEW PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER FROM A BESTSELLER.

Beth wants to love her new home on a quiet suburban street.

She wishes she could make friends with her beautiful neighbour Oksana. She longs for a new group of friends. Welcoming neighbours to visit. Coffee dates and dinner parties.

But life here feels so closed. Then Beth runs into Oksana’s garden one day to fetch her runaway dog, and she sees something shocking that makes her wonder who her new neighbours really are.

A girl in the window.
A pale desperate face.
A hastily scribbled sign bearing only two words.

HELP ME.

Who is the girl? What are the neighbours hiding?

Sometimes, it’s the most perfect neighbours that hide the most terrible secrets.

Fans of Gillian Flynn, T.M. Logan, B.A. Paris, Liane Moriarty, Claire Dyer, Sam Carrington, Celeste Ng will devour this stunning psychological thriller.

ALSO BY SUSANNA BEARD


THE PERFECT LIFE
THE GIRL ON THE BEACH
WHAT HAPPENED THAT NIGHT
THE LOST BROTHER
THE PERFECT NEIGHBOUR

An Unputdownable Riveting Read!

I have enjoyed several of this author’s novels, and I really think this is her best yet!

Beth and her family have moved from London to a new home outwith the city limits. Settling in the new neighbourhood is very different with detached houses, high hedges, fences and intercom access. With her husband happy in his new job and the children settling in their new schools, Beth is desperate to make friends of her own. Her beautiful neighbour, Oksana, would be the obvious beginning but the Russian is not exactly welcoming. Creeping into the next door garden one day to bring back her wayward puppy, Beth sees something which unsettles her – a pale-faced girl at the window with a sign pleading for help. What kind of a neighbourhood is this that they have moved to?

This starts off as a tale of two women and develops from there, having grabbed the reader’s attention. I can’t imagine it was an easy story to write and the author handles it perfectly, turning what must have been carefully researched information into an amazing, riveting read which is unputdownable. There are several characters of note in this one and Susanna Beard has developed each one into a really believable person you would expect to meet in any walk of life. Skilfully crafted and beautifully written, this is a story which will stay with me. Highly recommended and easily commanding a full house of stars.

My thanks to the publisher for my copy; this is – as always – my honest, original and unbiased review.

Tags: psychological thriller

Author Details

Apart from books, Susanna’s passions include wildlife, dogs, tennis and travel. She has swum with whale sharks in Australia, trekked in the mountains of Nepal, explored Brighton’s sewers and fallen down a crevasse in the French Alps.

4 thoughts on “The Perfect Daughter by Susanna Beard #BookReview #JoffeBooks #5*

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s