The Abberley Beach Murders by D. E. White #BookReview #DetectiveDoveMilson3 #JoffeBooks #4.5*

THE ELECTRIFYING NEW NOVEL STARRING DETECTIVE DOVE MILSON.

Four dead.
One clinging to life.
A tragic accident or is someone out to kill?

Detective Dove Milson is called out to a gruesome scene under the pier: four bodies floating in a flooded escape room. The chamber is meant to flood with seawater as the tide rises. But the water release valve has been tampered with and the ladder out of the top hatch has been removed. The entrance has also been broken into, and the CCTV from the night is missing.

What really happened after midnight in room 6?

Dove discovers one of the dead was a person of interest in a cold case. Five years ago, a young woman was assaulted in an abandoned quarry and she’s been in a coma ever since.

What’s the connection and are they related to a string of attacks on the beach?

One thing is clear.

Dove’s in a dangerous game of cat and mouse with someone and only one of them will escape with their life.

Perfect for fans of Cara Hunter, K.L. Slater, Robert Bryndza, Helen Fields, Helen H. Durrant and Angela Marsons.

DETECTIVE DOVE MILSON SERIES

Book 1: GLASS DOLLS
Book 2: THE ICE DAUGHTERS
Book 3: THE ABBERLEY BEACH MURDERS

Skilfully Plotted!

An intricate, enigmatic read!

When Dove Milson is called out to her latest case, it’s not just one body but four; three are dead and one is barely clinging to life. They were in the local escape rooms; built into the cliff, the rooms fill with water as the tide comes in and, with the ladder removed from the top hatch and the water outlet valve meddled with, the occupants had no chance of getting out unscathed. When the name of one of the deceased pops up as having been a suspect in a still unsolved case of assault on a young woman – who remains in a coma – it crosses Dove’s mind that the deaths could be down to revenge. Either way, there’s someone out there with her in their sights.

There is a lot going on in this novel and it’s one of those where you need to keep your wits about you. One thing I do know: there is very little chance of me ever going into an escape room – just reading about them gives me the heebee-jeebees (I’m claustrophobic). I very quickly remember coming across Dove Milson previously when I read and reviewed The Ice Daughters, and this is a worthy third in series. A thrilling read, skilfully plotted and beautifully written and it kept me guessing all the way through. So many possibilities make for an excellent experience and I will be looking out for more from this author. 4.5* and a definite recommendation.

My thanks to the publisher for my copy; this is – as always – my honest original and unbiased review.

Tags: crime thriller

Author Details

Daisy White / D. E. White is an Amazon bestselling author of cosy crime, crime thrillers and psychological thrillers.

She started writing on the back of napkins when flying as cabin crew. After a variety of other jobs, including working as a 999 call handler for the ambulance service, in A&E as a healthcare assistant, and in a supermarket, she finally began writing full time in 2017.

After initially self-publishing, and learning a whole lot about the publishing industry, her first cosy crime series, The Ruby Baker Mysteries (Joffe Books), was published in 2017/8. This was followed by two psychological thrillers, Remember Me, and, The Forgotten Child (HarperCollins) in 2019.

As well as writing, Daisy enjoys speaking at events, giving workshops at writing retreats and mentoring writers starting out on their own journeys.

She lives on the south coast of the UK, with her husband, children and a flock of rescue chickens.

Daisy is represented by Lina Langlee at The North Literary Agency.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s