Murder Now and Then by Faith Martin #BookReview #DIHillaryGreene19 #JoffeBooks #4.5*

ONE OF THE WORLD’S FAVOURITE DETECTIVES RETURNS.

A BRAND-NEW MYSTERY FROM THE TWO-MILLION-SELLING AUTHOR.

Former Detective Hillary Greene and her cold case team are taking a fresh look at the unsolved murder of Michael Beck, found bludgeoned over the head and dead in a river near his home in 2012.

Just twenty-two at the time, he’d recently finished a history degree and had his whole life ahead of him. Everyone said he was a pleasant sort of lad with a passion for the past, quietly living with his parents until he could afford a place of his own. But it quickly turned out that there were at least two people who might have wanted him dead.

The first, his recently-jilted girlfriend Mia de Salle, hadn’t taken the break-up well. The second, his former tutor Dr Timothy Durning, had been accused of sexual harassment by Michael. But the original team could find no forensic evidence linking either of their prime suspects to the crime, nor witnesses placing them in the area when Michael was killed.

Hillary, however, is determined to find fresh leads. But while she and her team get to work, in the city of Oxford two men from the city’s criminal underbelly have been viciously murdered in the last six months.

Are the recent murders and her own cold case linked? More than a decade later, has the same killer struck again? And if so, what’s the connection between the mild-mannered young man and the underworld criminals?

It’s up to Hillary to stop a killer getting away with murder — both now and then.

Perfect for fans of Betty Rowlands, Agatha Christie, L.J. Ross, T.E. Kinsey, J.R. Ellis, Helen Cox, M.C. Beaton, or Clare Chase.

DI HILLARY GREENE SERIES

Book 1: MURDER ON THE OXFORD CANAL
Book 2: MURDER AT THE UNIVERSITY
Book 3: MURDER OF THE BRIDE
Book 4: MURDER IN THE VILLAGE
Book 5: MURDER IN THE FAMILY
Book 6: MURDER AT HOME
Book 7: MURDER IN THE MEADOW
Book 8: MURDER IN THE MANSION
Book 9: MURDER IN THE GARDEN
Book 10: MURDER BY FIRE
Book 11: MURDER AT WORK
Book 12: MURDER NEVER RETIRES
Book 13: MURDER OF A LOVER
Book 14: MURDER NEVER MISSES
Book 15: MURDER AT MIDNIGHT
Book 16: MURDER IN MIND
Book 17: HILLARY’S FINAL CASE
Book 18: HILLARY’S BACK!
Book 19: MURDER NOW AND THEN

An Exciting, Satisfying Read!

My first Hillary Green novel – but not my last!

Retired detective Hillary Greene has been recommissioned by the force to look into cold cases, in charge of her own small team. Having solved the last case, she is eager to find out what is next on the agenda; it turns out to be the death of 22 year old Michael Beck, found bludgeoned to death on the river bank almost a decade ago. Working methodically, Hillary and her team review all previous evidence but what she’s really hoping for is to pick up something fresh which wasn’t discovered in the first investigation. Similar to finding a needle in a haystack, this is what they excel at.

I cannot tell you how many of this series I have purchased over the years and have never managed to read – yet. I love that this is a complete stand-alone book so I can return to read the earlier novels at my leisure – well, that little piece of time not already filled with great reads (there are so many)! I love the detailed analysis of every little piece of information; it appeals to the pedant in me! It didn’t take me long to decide this was my kind of book: anyone who names their car ‘Puff, the tragic wagon’ is right on my wavelength! An exciting and satisfying novel which I really enjoyed and am happy to recommend. 4.5*.

My thanks to the publisher for my copy; this is – as always – my honest, original and unbiased review.

Tags: crime mystery

Author Details

Faith Martin, writing for nearly thirty years under four different pen names, has published nearly fifty books. Having lived within a few miles of Oxford all her life, both the city and surrounding countryside often feature in her novels.

Faith is represented by Kate Nash at the Kate Nash Literary Agency.

  • Twitter: @MaxineBBooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s