The Truth Will Out by Jane Isaac #BookReview #DCIHelenLavery2 #LegendPress #4.5*


Eva Carradine is horrified when she witnesses an attack on her best friend, Naomi Spence, during a video call. Fearing for her own safety, Eva calls an ambulance and flees her home. DCI Helen Lavery leads the investigation into Naomi’s murder, but with no leads, no further witnesses and no sign of forced entry, the pieces of the puzzle are slow to come together.

As Helen inches towards solving the case, her past becomes caught up in her present. Someone is after both her and Eva. Someone who will stop at nothing to get what they want.

When the net starts to close around them, can Helen escape her own demons as well as help Eva to escape hers?

DCI Helen Lavery series

Book 1: An Unfamiliar Murder
Book 2: The Truth Will Out
Book 3: A Deathly Silence

A Riveting Thriller!

I have enjoyed Jane Isaac’s writing previously and couldn’t wait to read this one!

Eva Carradine is chatting to her friend Naomi Spence via a video call when she witnesses her being attacked. Suspecting that she may be next, Eva calls an ambulance to Naomi’s home and flees her own. The case lands on the desk of DCI Helen Lavery who has nothing to go on but must get her team to find out why Naomi was attacked. As they get further into the investigation, both Helen and Eva seem to be targets. Can they both be protected whilst getting to the crux of the matter?

This is a gripping read! I wish I had realised that it was a second in series, but that didn’t affect this story. A puzzling thriller which kept me glued to the pages all the way through, suspecting everyone along the way. There is plenty of content, well written and all adding up to a riveting read. Thoroughly recommended and easily earning 4.5*.

I purchased this novel; this is – as always – my honest, original and unbiased read.

Tags: crime thriller

Author Details

Jane Isaac is married to a serving detective and they live in rural Northamptonshire, UK with their daughter and dogs.

Jane is author of three bestselling detective series: DCI Helen Lavery, DI Will Jackman (based in Stratford upon Avon), and DC Beth Chamberlain (a Family Liaison Officer). Her novels have been nominated as best mystery in the ‘eFestival of Words Best of the Independent eBook awards’ and selected as ‘Thriller of the Month’ by

2021 sees Jane’s first foray into psychological suspense with the release of One Good Lie in June. A further psychological suspense novel will follow in 2022, along with a new DCI Helen Lavery book.

Jane loves to hear from readers and writers. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s