Coffin Cove by Jackie Elliott #BookReview #CoffinCove1 #JoffeBooks #4.5*

AN ADDICTIVE MUST-READ WHODUNNIT FROM THE NEWEST TALENT IN CRIME FICTION

A new life.

A new town.

A dead body.

Andrea “Andi” Silvers needs a fresh start. Once a star reporter, she’s been dumped by her lover and by the paper they both worked at.

Andi moves to the tiny fishing village of Coffin Cove, on the Vancouver coast, where she lands a job at the local Gazette. Expecting bake sales and unpaid parking tickets to be the biggest news items, she quickly discovers the small town holds dark secrets.

Two sea lions wash up on the shore. They’ve been shot dead. Activists point the finger at local fishermen. Then things get far worse . . .

A dead body turns up.

How does it all relate to a fifteen-year-old girl’s tragic death twenty years ago? The girl was found drowned with her arms and legs tied together.

The deeper Andi digs, the more dirt she finds.

Discover a web of murder and mystery laced with humour and a thread of romance in this fast-paced whodunnit set on the gorgeous coast of Western Canada.

Fans of Joy Ellis, L.J. Ross, Peter Robinson, Thomas King, Louise Penny and Shari Lapena will devour this mesmerizing debut crime thriller.

Coffin Cove Mysteries

  1. Coffin Cove
  2. Hell’s Half Acre

Intricate & Enigmatic!

A crisp start to a brand new mystery series!

Andi Silvers needs a new job in a new area and working for the local paper in Coffin Cove, Vancouver Island, fits her immediate needs. What she doesn’t expect is to be pulled into the community, firstly looking into two shot sea-lions, environmental activists who blame the fishermen – and then a dead body turns up. As Andi begins to dig, she discovers that twenty years ago a fifteen year old girl was found drowned with her arms and legs tied together. Does this have any bearing on what’s happening now? As she keeps digging, her findings get murkier and murkier . . .

What a cracking read! Intricate and enigmatic, this is precisely planned and has such a lot going on. Andi Silvers is a character I want to read more about, and I have already downloaded the second in series. A real whodunnit with lots of potential outcomes, there are lots of twists and turns which had me gripped until the very end when all is clear. A cleverly spun story with a fine cast of characters in a spectacular setting, I fully enjoyed this one and am very happy to recommend it to all lovers of a crime mystery which keeps you guessing! 4.5*.

My thanks to the publisher for my copy; this is – as always – my honest, original and unbiased review.

Tags: crime mystery

Author Details

Jackie is originally from the UK, but she settled on Vancouver Island, Canada in 2004. She’s married to Bob, a commercial fisherman and accomplished storyteller – like most fishermen!

It was a culture shock to swap a fast-paced city life for Island living. It wasn’t at all how Jackie had expected. She was intrigued by the pioneer spirit of their small communities, and the fight to hang on to traditional ways of living. In her experience, small towns ‘with a heart’ have claws and teeth as well and that makes the perfect back drop for a good murder!

When Jackie’s not writing, she is gardening, reading, or poking around local museums, looking for inspiration.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s