The Faceless Man by Helen H. Durrant #BookReview #DetectivesLennoxandWilde2 #JoffeBooks #5*

MEET DETECTIVE HARRY LENNOX AND JESS WILDE IN THIS BRILLIANT NEW CRIME SERIES.

A BRAND NEW MYSTERY FROM #1 BEST-SELLING AUTHOR HELEN H. DURRANT THAT WILL HAVE YOU ON THE EDGE OF YOUR SEAT FROM PAGE ONE. FAST-PACED AND FULL OF SURPRISES.

A teenage boy is found murdered in a local park. Stabbed to death and set alight to destroy the evidence.

Detectives Harry Lennox and Jess Wilde soon learn his identity and find his bedroom wall decorated with photographs of the victims of unsolved murders.

There are images of three people who appear to be the next victims. One of them is the faceless man, a blank cut-out with no features.

Jess and Harry must find the killer before the next target dies. And Harry is guarding a secret that could destroy everything he’s built.

A MYSTERY FULL OF STUNNING TWISTS WHICH YOU WON’T WANT TO PUT DOWN.

THE DETECTIVES

DI HARRY LENNOX began his career in Glasgow, but due to a traumatic incident, transferred to West Yorkshire and then Ryebridge. He blames a local villain for what happened and is afraid that he’ll catch up with him. Harry is single, thirty-five and has a chaotic lifestyle.

DS JESS WILDE is thirty. She is unattached and keen to progress in her career. She gets on well with Harry. He doesn’t have much time for protocol, and this suits her. She is critical of how he lives. She has recently bought her first property locally.

Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Kimberley Chambers, Damien Boyd, Rachel Abbott, Patricia Gibney or Mark Billingham.

LENNOX & WILDE

  1. THE GUILTY MAN
  2. THE FACELESS MAN

A Gripping, Enigmatic Read!

I always know I’m in for a good story when I open a Helen Durrant book – and this one is no different!

When Lennox and Wilde are called to the local park they find the body of a teenage lad, first stabbed to death and then set alight. When they visit his home, they find his bedroom holds plenty of clues. With a wall of unsolved murders, photographs of three people pinpointed as the next victims include a blank cut-out of the faceless man. Jess and Harry have got to find out what’s going on and stop any further murders, but Harry has other things going on in his life. Can they solve their latest case – and in time to prevent any more deaths?

I’m sorry to say I missed the first in this series (too many good books, too little reading time), but it is fairly easy to come in to this second one. All the best crimee thrillers have something going on with the investigating officers and this time we don’t really know what it is that Harry’s hiding. The murder itself opens a can of worms, with twists and turns to muddy the waters the reader is kept on their toes throughout. The team work well together – each with their strengths which are used well by the lead detectives. Did I guess ‘whodunnit’? I briefly considered them early on then dismissed the notion – felt a right fool when it was revealed. A gripping, enigmatic read, beautifully plotted and eloquently written. I’m already looking forward to the next in this series, it’s definitely one to keep me hooked. A full five stars and my recommendation to all crime lovers.

My thanks to the publisher for my copy; this is – as always – my honest, original an unbiased review.

Tags: crime thriller

Author Details

Helen is one of the ‘baby boomer’ generation. She was born in Edinburgh to an English father and Scottish mother.

Helen sets her books in the area she has lived in for many years. The towns and villages that sit in the shelter of the Pennine hills. This is an area between two counties, Lancashire and Yorkshire, and between the city and the hills. It offers a rich mix of the industrial and the countryside and all the character therein.

Helen always planned to write crime novels. But until she retired from full-time work in a local further education college, it had to go on the back burner. Once she did retire – there was no excuse. She now writes full-time. Retirement proper will have to wait!

  • Twitter: @HHDurrant
  • Facebook: @helenhdurrant

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s