The Suffragette’s Daughter by Michelle Salter #BookReview #BloodhoundBooks #4.5*

In a world where men rule, can a woman ever succeed?

Trainee journalist Iris Woodmore is invited to accompany Mrs Sybil Siddons, only the third woman to ever stand for Parliament, to a debate at the House of Commons.

Iris is thrilled but scared. The place holds painful memories. Her mother, Violet, died there when she fell into the River Thames during a daring suffragette protest in 1914.

During the trip with Mrs Siddons, Iris’s world is turned upside down when she discovers her mother didn’t fall – she jumped.

She tries to find the suffragette who was with her mother on that fateful day, only to learn she disappeared shortly after the protest and has been missing for six years. 

Iris needs to know the reason behind that fatal jump, but her investigation uncovers more secrets than she could ever have imagined…

The Suffragette’s Daughter is a gripping historical mystery about one woman’s journey of self-discovery. It’s the perfect read for fans of books like The Glass House by Eve Chase as well as for fans of authors like Louise Douglas and Julia Quinn.

A Riveting Read!

Mysteries, politics, landed gentry, women’s suffrage and one determined trainee journalist all make for an exciting read!

In post-WWI Britain, young wannabee journalist Iris Woodmore gets the chance to attend a debate in the House of Commons courtesy of Mrs Isobel Siddons, long time friend and only the third woman to stand for parliament. It’s a bittersweet occasion for Iris as her mother died there in her capacity as a suffragette in 1914. During the visit, Iris is told that her mother didn’t fall into the Thames – she jumped. Determined to get to the truth, Iris begins to search for the other woman who accompanied her mother only to find that she disappeared six years ago, but her investigation uncovers far more than she bargained for.

I really wasn’t entirely sure what I was letting myself in for with this one, but it is an original, gripping read. One mystery wrapped up in another sit alongside every day life and even a touch of romance slips in. The story plays out beautifully; then, just as you think you have it all worked out, along comes a twist or three to mess with your head. A clever idea turned into a riveting read by dint of excellent writing makes this an excellent read and one I’m happy to recommend. 4.5 stars.

My thanks to the publisher for my copy via NetGalley; this is – as always – my honest, original and unbiased review.

Tags: historical mystery

Author Details

Michelle is a copywriter and has written articles, blog posts, case studies, whitepapers, reports and brochures on pretty much every topic under the sun. Her features have also appeared in national magazines.

Michelle’s love of social history and crime fiction combine in her novels to reflect how events from 100 years ago shape the world we live in today. Her debut novel is a coming-of-age story that introduces a series of mysteries set in the 1920s.

When she’s not writing, Michelle can be found knee-deep in mud at her local nature reserve. She enjoys working with a team of volunteers undertaking conservation activities on land and in water, repairing riverbanks, sloshing around in the marshes and driving a tractor badly.

She lives in North East Hampshire, and many local locations feature in her historical crime novels.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s