Candy Slain Murder by Maddie Day #BookReview #CountryStoreMystery8 #KensingtonBooks #NetGalley #5*

Christmas cheer has sent the griddle into overdrive at Robbie Jordan’s popular country store and café. And this year, there’s a new seasonal special to feast on: murder!

As December sweeps through South Lick, Indiana, Robbie’s life seems merry and bright like the string lights glistening around town. But strange happenings signal a bumpy ride into the holidays. First a man raises eyebrows at Pans ‘N Pancakes when he claiming to be the long-lost half-brother of Robbie’s assistant. Then a fire destroys the home of a controversial anesthesiologist, exposing skeletal remains in his attic.

Helplessly intrigued, all Robbie wants for Christmas is to stop her winter wonderland from becoming a real nightmare.

With a decades-old mystery taking shape, can she run as fast as she can in pursuit of a killer who’s harder to crack than a stale gingerbread man?

Country Store Mystery series

Book 1 – Flipped for Murder

Book 2 – Grilled for Murder

Book 3 – When the Grits Hit the Fan

Book 4 – Biscuits and Slashed Browns

Book 5 – Death Over Easy

Book 6 – Strangled Eggs and Ham

Book 7 – Nacho Average Murder

Book 8 – Candy Slain Murder

Full of Fun & Intrigue!

Oh, I love this series! A twisty mystery, lots of small town gossip and yummy food to boot – what’s not to like?

Christmas is coming and the grill at Pans ‘N Pancakes is getting hotter than ever as the Christmas rush starts early for Robbie Jordan and her staff. They are rushed off there feet when a young man new to South Lick turns up and reveals himself to be the long-lost half brother of one of her assistants, then there’s a fire destroying the home of a local medic which becomes more sinister as a body is found in his attic. Robbie is, of course, intrigued but barely has time to keep her head above water without carrying out her usual investigating!

This is one of my favourite cosy mystery series. Along with all the regular characters there are always new ones popping up, keeping each book fresh and yet still familiar. Robbie has a great wee business, but she works hard at making it a success. Being Scottish, I have no idea what the accent is like in Indiana, but I think I make a pretty good fist of it in my mind as I read and I love the phrases which pop up – especially from Buck! Full of fun and intrigue, this novel encompasses everything which is happening globally too and I particularly like Robbie’s (and the author’s) take on things. The recipes at the end of each book are a bonus – even if I don’t understand half of the items (again, being Scottish) – I’m still trying to work out what grits are! A fabulously entertaining read, skilfully crafted as always and beautifully written. I cannot recommend this series highly enough, and also the Quaker Midwife Mysteries, written under the author’s own name. No doubt about it, this is a five star read!

My thanks to the publisher for my copy via NetGalley; this is – as always – my honest, original and unbiased review.

Tags: cosy mystery

Author Bio

Agatha- and Macavity-nominated author Maddie Day is a talented amateur chef who knows both Indiana and Cape Cod intimately. She is a member of Sisters in Crime and Mystery Writers of America and blogs with the Wicked Authors and at Killer Characters. Day lives with her beau and two elderly cats north of Boston, where she gardens, cooks, and devises new murderous plots.

Social Media


Facebook: @MaddieDayAuthor

Twitter: @MaddieDayAuthor

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s