Arthur Rex Brittonum by Tim Walker #BookReview #GuestReviewer #BlogBlitz #ALightInTheDarkAges#5 #IndieAuthor #5*

 

02. Hrt 175 centred

 

FROM THE DECAY OF POST-ROMAN BRITAIN, ARTHUR SEEKS TO UNITE A TROUBLED LAND

Arthur Rex Brittonum (‘King of the Britons’) is an action-packed telling of the King Arthur story rooted in historical accounts that predate the familiar Camelot legend.
Britain in the early sixth century has reverted to tribal lands, where chiefs settle old scores with neighbours whilst eyeing with trepidation the invaders who menace the shore in search of plunder and settlement.

Arthur, only son of the late King Uther, has been crowned King of the Britons by the northern chiefs and must now persuade their counterparts in the south and west to embrace him. Will his bid to lead their combined army against the Saxon threat succeed? He arrives in Powys buoyed by popular acclaim at home, a king, husband and father – but can he sustain his efforts in unfamiliar territory? It is a treacherous and winding road that ultimately leads him to a winner-takes-all clash at the citadel of Mount Badon.

Tim Walker’s Arthur Rex Brittonum picks up the thread from the earlier life of Arthur in 2019’s Arthur Dux Bellorum, but it can be read as a standalone novel.

Fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and Mathew Harffy will enjoy Walker’s A Light in the Dark Ages series and its newest addition – Arthur Rex Brittonum.

 

A Light In The Dark Ages series

Book 1 – Abandoned

Book 2 – Ambrosius: Last of the Romans

Book 3 – Uther’s Destiny

Book 4 – Arthur Dux Bellorum

Book 5 – Arthur Rex Brittonum

 

01. Hrt 125 centred

 

cover

 

01. Hrt 125 centred

 

A Riveting Read!    stars 5

 

It’s a pleasure to be asked to review this fifth book in what has shown to be a very exciting series encompassing the Arthurian legend.

With Arthur now being accepted as King in the northern regions, he is set on a collision course with Mordred over the crown in other areas. As he travels from his home area where he is highly regarded, he expects to be heading into battle. Who will reign supreme?

I was engrossed from the very first paragraph of this novel, and could easily have read it to completion there and then had life not got in the way. This was the final instalment I had been waiting for and it certainly did not disappoint. There were knights with lances, battles to spark the imagination, grand castles and the underlying notion that it could all have actually happened. Throw in the Saxons and the mysterious Merlyn and this book is an excellent read! Most definitely worth a full house of five stars and I await Tim Walker’s next creation with bated breath!

My thanks to the author for the opportunity to read his novel; this review is entirely my own.

 

Tags: historical action & adventure fiction
  • Format: ebook, paperback
  • Size: 275 pages
  • Publication Date: 01 June 2020
  • Links: Goodreads
  •              amazon

 

01. Hrt 125 centred

 

Author Bio

 

Tim Walker profile picture

 

Tim Walker is an independent author living near Windsor in the UK. He grew up in Liverpool where he began his working life as a trainee reporter on a local newspaper. He then studied for and attained a degree in Communication studies and moved to London where he worked in the newspaper publishing industry for ten years before relocating to Zambia where, following a period of voluntary work with VSO, he set up his own marketing and publishing business.

His creative writing journey began in earnest in 2013, as a therapeutic activity whilst undergoing and recovering from cancer treatment. He began writing an historical fiction series, A Light in the Dark Ages, in 2014 following a visit to the near-by site of a former Roman town. The aim of the series is to connect the end of Roman Britain to elements of the Arthurian legend, present an imagined history of Britain in the fifth and early sixth centuries.

His new book, published in June 2020, is Arthur Rex Brittonum, a re-imagining of the story of King Arthur (book five in the series). It follows on from 2019’s Arthur Dux Bellorum, the story of young Arthur (book four in the series), that received recognition from two sources in 2019 – One Stop Fiction Book of the Month in April, and an honourable mention in the Coffee Pot Book Club Book of the Year (Historical Fiction) Awards. The series starts with Abandoned (second edition, 2018); followed by Ambrosius: Last of the Romans (2017); and book three, Uther’s Destiny (2018). Series book covers are designed by Canadian graphic artist, Cathy Walker. Tim is self-published under his brand name, timwalkerwrites.

Tim has also written two books of short stories, Thames Valley Tales (2015) and Postcards from London (2017); a dystopian thriller, Devil Gate Dawn (2016); Perverse (verse and short fiction (2020); and two children’s books, co-authored with his daughter, Cathy – The Adventures of Charly Holmes (2017) and Charly & The Superheroes (2018) with a third in the pipeline – Charly in Space.

 

Social Media

Website: timwalkerwrites.co.uk

Twitter: timwalker1666

Author Pages: goodreads.com/timwalker1666

facebook.com/TimWalkerWrites

amazon.co.uk/AuthorTimWrites

 

01. Hrt 125 centred

 

Meet the Reviewer

 

DSC_0210

 

My guest reviewer for this novel is my husband, John.

He enjoys thrilling, exciting action reads and is a big fan of the late Clive Cussler and, of course, Tim Walker!

 

01. Hrt 125 centred

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s