The Brief #BookReview #Sapere

Written by Simon Michael

 

150 hrt

 

The legal thriller series you need to read! Perfect for fans of John Grisham, Robert Bailey, Michael Connelly and Robert Dugoni.

Guilty until proven innocent… 

London, 1960

Barrister Charles Holborne is not popular. A Jewish East Ender with a rough past, he is ostracised by his anti-Semitic and class-conscious colleagues who don’t want him in their prestigious Establishment profession.

And the bitterness Charles feels at work is spilling over into his personal life, putting his marriage under strain.

When a high-profile murder case lands on his desk, Charles is hopeful his fortunes will turn around.

But after a shocking crime is committed, he finds himself on the other side of law…

Can he outwit those trying to frame him? Will he manage to unmask the real criminal?

Or will he find himself on trial for murder…?

THE BRIEF is the first crime novel in an exciting historical series, the Charles Holborne Legal Thrillers — gritty, hard-boiled mysteries set in 1960s London.

 

100hrtbk

 

26.

 

100hrtbk

 

Thrilling Read, Very Exciting!    Stars 5

 

What an exciting read! Fast-paced and gripping throughout – and so entertaining!

Charles Holborne, criminal lawyer, is not what he appears at first glance. Born far from a silver spoon, Charles’ past is regarded as ‘undesirable’ by his fellow colleagues in Chambers. He is, however, very good at his job. With the influence of his father-in-law, he is quite secure in his position until the knock-on effect begins to reflect in his marriage.

From the very beginning, I felt very at home with this novel and couldn’t help but think it would transfer well to the small screen. It’s an excellent story; well-structured, moves along at a good pace and flows beautifully. There really is never a dull moment! It is a riveting tale and one I flew through. I can hardly wait for this series to continue and note that the next two in series are already on their way. Simon Michael is definitely an author to watch. For those who like a really exciting thriller, this is fully recommended! No less than five stars will do, and it earns every one of them! 

My thanks to Sapere Books for providing my copy. This is my honest and unbiased opinion, as always.

 

Tags: legal thriller
  • Format: ebook, paperback, audio
  • Size: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Sapere Books
  • Publication Date: 10 June 2019
  • Purchase Links: Barnes & Noble
  •                                 Waterstones
  •                                 amazon

 

100hrtbk

 

Meet the Author

 

Simon MichaelSimon Michael is the author of the best-selling London 1960s noir gangster series featuring his antihero barrister, Charles Holborne. Simon writes from personal experience: a barrister for 37 years, he worked in the Old Bailey and other criminal courts defending and prosecuting a wide selection of murderers, armed robbers, con artists and other assorted villainy. The 1960s was the “Wild West” of British justice, a time when the Krays, Richardsons and other violent gangs fought for control of London’s organised crime, and the corrupt Metropolitan Police beat up suspects, twisted evidence and took a share of the criminal proceeds. Simon weaves into his thrillers genuine court documents from cases on which he worked on the big stories of the 1960s.

Simon was published in the UK and the USA in the 1980s and returned to writing when he retired from the law in 2016. The Charles Holborne series, The Brief, An Honest Man, The Lighterman and Corrupted, have all garnered strong reviews for their authenticity and excitement. The fifth in the series, The Waxwork Corpse, will be published by Sapere Books later this year.

Simon’s theme is alienation; Holborne, who dabbled in crime and serious violence before becoming a barrister, is an outsider both in the East End where he grew up and in the Temples of the Law where he faces daily class and religious prejudice. He has been compared to Raymond Chandler’s Philip Marlowe and Dashiell Hammett’s Sam Spade, honourable men surrounded by corruption and violence, trying to steer an honest course.

 

Follow Simon

Facebook: @SimonMichael.uk

 

100hrtbk

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s