Strangled Eggs & Ham #BookReview #Kensington #NetGalley

Written by Maddie Day


150 hrt


Robbie Jordan’s rustic country store is growing in popularity. But when a dead body appears, it turns out that Robbie’s home-style cooking attracts hungry customers—and murder!

While Robbie scrambles through breakfast orders for her expanding clientele at Pans ‘N Pancakes, tempers run as high as the sticky August heat in South Lick, Indiana.

Real-estate developer Fiona Closs plans to build a towering luxury resort at one of the most scenic hilltops in Brown County, and not everyone can see the sunny side of the imposing proposition—including Robbie’s furious Aunt Adele, who doesn’t waste a minute concocting protests and road blockades.

When tensions boil over and a vocal protester is silenced forever at the resort site, Robbie ditches the griddle to catch the killer.

But if slashed tires are any indication, she’ll need to crack this case before her own aunt gets served something deadly next . . .  


Country Store Mystery series

Book 1 – Flipped for Murder

Book 2 – Grilled for Murder

Book 3 – When the Grits Hit the Fan

 Book 4 – Biscuits and Slashed Browns

Book 5 – Death Over Easy

Book 6 – Strangled Eggs and Ham








Entertaining from First to Last!    Stars 5


Another wonderful addition to this fun series!

Robbie Jordan’s restaurant is busier than ever; with B&B guests upstairs and more customers than she has seats she is run off her feet during business hours. However that still leaves her plenty of time to catch up with friends, family and to know what’s going on in South Lick .. and even to look into yet another murder.

I love this series. It’s such fun! Living in a rural Scottish village, the food in the county of Indiana is all new to me although there is enough of a description for me to work it out! The characters are, by now, quite familiar but there are always new ones popping up in each book. The story flows beautifully and the author always keep the perpetrator’s identity cloaked in secrecy until the very last pages – just how I like it. Skilfully crafted, there is so much happening in this one that I just seemed to fly through the pages. So good! Entertaining from first to last, this is turning out to be a great series. Author Maddie Day also writes as Edith Maxwell; her Quaker midwife mysteries are excellent and well worth a look if you enjoy this genre. A quick mention also has to go to her creative titles in the County Story Mystery Series .. always worth a chuckle! This, the sixth book, absolutely  earns a full house of stars.

My thanks to publisher Kensington for my copy via NetGalley. As always, all opinions given are entirely my own honest view.


Tags: cosy mystery
  • Format: ebook, paperback, audio
  • Size: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Kensington
  • Publication Date: 25 June 2019
  • Purchase Links: Google Play
  •                                 Barnes & Noble
  •                                 Kobo
  •                                 amazon




Meet the Author



Agatha- and Macavity-nominated author Maddie Day is a talented amateur chef who knows both Indiana and Cape Cod intimately. She is a member of Sisters in Crime and Mystery Writers of America and blogs with the Wicked Authors and at Killer Characters. Day lives with her beau and two elderly cats north of Boston, where she gardens, cooks, and devises new murderous plots. She hopes you’ll find her at


Follow Maddie

Facebook: @MaddieDayAuthor

Twitter: @MaddieDayAuthor



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s