The Friend Who Lied #BookReview #BlogTour #BookOnTheBrightSide

Written by Rachel Amphlett

 

150 hrt

 

Add a heading

 

100hrtbk

 

What she doesn’t know might kill her…

Lisa Ashton receives a last-minute reprieve from death two weeks before her birthday. Regaining consciousness, she is horrified to learn one of her friends has been killed – and saved her life.

As she recovers, she uncovers a trail of carefully guarded reputations, disturbing rumours, and lies. Soon, Lisa begins to wonder if one of her friends is hiding a terrible secret.

Because five of them entered the escape room that day, and only four got out alive.

And someone is determined to cover their tracks before she can find out the truth.

Can Lisa find the killer before someone else dies?

The Friend Who Lied: a twisted psychological thriller from USA Today bestseller Rachel Amphlett – perfect for fans of The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley and Friend Request by Laura Marshall.  

 

100hrtbk

 

The Friend Who Lied Cover EBOOK

 

100hrtbk

 

A Twisted, Thrilling Read!     Stars 5

 

Another riveting read from the pen (laptop?) of Rachel Amphlett, an author I have followed for quite some time – and I won’t be giving up any time soon!

Lisa was badly in need of a new kidney; with her health failing fast and no signs of a suitable donor, she heads out with her friends to celebrate her soon-to-be birthday; will she ever reach her next milestone? We join Lisa as she wakes up in hospital, in pain, and in recovery after her transplant. How did this miracle come about? Due to a very indiscreet member of staff, her parents can tell her than the donor was one of her group of very close friends who died on their last outing. But how? Lisa finds she has little or no memory of their outing – so what really happened that day?

This is an attention-grabbing read! As with all of Rachel’s novels, we’re straight into the action on page one, something which has really drawn me to her writing. As we slowly get to know Lisa and her friends we find out that the police are interviewing them all, suspecting foul play somewhere along the way. Lisa can’t work out why; she can’t remember the events of that day no matter how hard she tries. Her memories are just out of her reach. Events are very unpredictable, and I never saw it coming .. the action and ultimately the ending left me gobsmacked at this twisted story line and completely in awe of the cunning and stealth which came to the fore. A fascinating read, showcasing the experience of this author who has expanded her writing into the ‘must not miss’ category. The Friend Who Lied has five stars stamped all over it and is a book which I cannot recommend highly enough.

My thanks to Sarah Hardy of Book On The Bright Side both for my copy and inviting me to take part in this Blog Tour. All opinions stated here are entirely my own – as always.

 

Tags: psychological thriller
  • Format: ebook, paperback
  • Size: 362 pages
  • Publisher: Saxon Publishing
  • Publication Date: 9 June 2019
  • Purchase Links: GooglePlay
  •                                 Barnes & Noble
  •                                 Kobo
  •                                 iBooks
  •                                 W. H. Smith
  •                                 Waterstones
  •                                 amazon uk
  •                                 amazon us

 

100hrtbk

 

Meet the Author

 

Rachel Amphlett author photo

 

Before turning to writing, USA Today bestselling author Rachel Amphlett played guitar in bands, worked as a TV and film extra, dabbled in radio as a presenter and freelance producer for the BBC, and worked in publishing as a sub-editor and editorial assistant.

She now wields a pen instead of a plectrum and writes crime fiction and spy novels, including the Dan Taylor and English Spy Mysteries espionage novels and theDetective Kay Hunter British police procedural series.

She’s a member of International Thriller Writers and the Crime Writers Association, with the Italian foreign rights for her debut novel, White Gold sold to Fanucci Editore’s TIMECrime imprint, and the first four books in the Dan Taylor espionage series contracted to Germany’s Luzifer Verlag.

 

Praise for Rachel Amphlett

“Thrilling start to a new series. Scared to Death is a stylish, smart and gripping crime thriller” ~ Robert Bryndza, USA Today bestselling author ofThe Girl in the Ice

“Scared to Death… moves along at breakneck speed with twists and turns” ~ Angela Marsons, bestselling author of the Detective Kim Stone crime thriller series.

 

Follow Rachel

Email: info@rachelamphlett.com

www.rachelamphlett.com

Twitter: @RachelAmphlett

Instagram: @RachelAmphlett

Facebook: Rachel Amphlett

 

100hrtbk

 

2 thoughts on “The Friend Who Lied #BookReview #BlogTour #BookOnTheBrightSide

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s