The Silver Ladies of Penny Lane #BookReview

Written by Dee MacDonald

 

150 hrt

 

Tess and Orla have been best friends throughout most of their adult lives.

So when life gave them lemons and their loved ones let them down, they pooled their resources and bought a dressmakers shop on the corner of Penny Lane. And they’ve been doing just fine ever since.

But one day, while studying her tired eyes and shapeless figure in the mirror, sixty-two-year-old Tess realised that she doesn’t want her life to be just fine anymore. She wants it to be extraordinary. For as long as she can remember she’s put everyone else first. Now she wants to rediscover herself – and experience the kind of whirlwind adventure that will have the power make her smile when she’s confined to the armchair of a retirement home.

With the encouragement of fun-loving and quirky Orla, Tess joins an over-the-hill dating agency and the two friends book a singles cruise around the Mediterranean. And that’s when their adventure of a lifetime really begins…

A totally uplifting, heart-warming, hilarious page turner about embracing the moment, learning to love again and the joy of second chances. Perfect for fans of The Kicking the Bucket List and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry.

 

100hrtbk

 

large

 

100hrtbk

 

Light-Hearted, Feel-Good Read!  Stars 5

 

Light-hearted and very entertaining, this is such a feel-good read!

Tess and Orla have both been unlucky in love; with their joint business venture the friends have moved forward with their lives, but both of them dream of having a bit of romance. With her daughter’s wedding approaching, Tess despairs of the extra pounds she has gained and decides to do something about it. Orla’s not so bothered about her weight gain, but persuades Tess to join her in a bit of internet dating .. and so the fun begins!

As someone who is currently losing weight, this book is right up my street! Tess’s determination to shed the pounds is inspiring, especially as she has an honest approach to it. The series of dates she embarks upon creased me up! Between herself and Orla, they ‘match’ with a wide variety of the male species and it makes for great reading. I smiled and grinned my way through this story, with the occasional grimace thrown in for good measure. Dee MacDonald’s writing is well-paced and the story flows beautifully, keeping the reader’s attention throughout. I certainly feel I want to read much more from her, as this one certainly brightened my day. I cannot find fault, and am very happy to give this novel a full five stars.

My thanks to publisher Bookouture for my copy via NetGalley. All opinions stated here are entirely my own.

 

Tags: humour, women’s fiction
  • Format: ebook, paperback
  • Size: 286 pages
  • Publisher: Bookouture
  • Publication Date: 24 April 2019
  • Purchase Links: Google Play
  •                                 Barnes & Noble
  •                                 Kobo
  •                                 amazon

 

100hrtbk

 

Meet the Author

 

zVsL6Ibv_400x400

The Runaway Wife is Dee’s first (published) novel but in fact she wrote her very first book – at around seven years of age! This was a love story which she duly illustrated before sewing all the pages together up one side. Writing was what she ‘was good at’ in school and she won several essay competitions, but then life got in the way and she didn’t pick up a pen again until after retirement.

Dee left Scotland and headed for London at the beginning of the swinging sixties. After typing her way round the West End she became an air stewardess on long haul routes with BA (then BOAC) for eight years. After that she did market research at Heathrow for both the government statistics and for BA, she became a sales rep., and was the receptionist at the Thames Television Studios in Teddington when they had the franchise.

She then ran a small B&B for ten years in Cornwall, where she lives with her husband. Dee has one son and two grandsons who live locally.

Her second book, The Getaway Girls, was published in July 2018.

 

Follow Dee
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dee.macdonald.18659

Twitter: https://twitter.com/DMacDonaldAuth

 

100hrtbk

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s