She Lies in Wait #DCIJonahSheens#1 #BookReview #NetGalley

Written by Gytha Lodge


150 hrt


Six friends. One killer. Who do you trust? A teen girl goes missing after a night of partying; thirty years later, the discovery of her body reopens a cold case in an absorbing novel featuring a small-town cop determined to finally get to the truth – for fans of Tana French and Kate Atkinson.

On a scorching July night in 1983, a group of teenagers goes camping in the forest. Bright and brilliant, they are destined for great things, and the youngest of the group—Aurora Jackson—is delighted to be allowed to tag along. The evening starts like any other—they drink, they dance, they fight, they kiss. Some of them slip off into the woods in pairs, others are left jealous and heartbroken. But by morning, Aurora has disappeared. Her friends claim that she was safe the last time they saw her, right before she went to sleep. An exhaustive investigation is launched, but no trace of the teenager is ever found.

Thirty years later, Aurora’s body is unearthed in a hideaway that only the six friends knew about, and Jonah Sheens is put in charge of solving the long-cold case. Back in 1983, as a young cop in their small town, he had known the teenagers—including Aurora—personally, even before taking part in the search. Now he’s determined to finally get to the truth of what happened that night. Sheens’s investigation brings the members of the camping party back to the forest, where they will be confronted once again with the events that left one of them dead, and all of them profoundly changed forever.

This searing, psychologically captivating novel marks the arrival of a dazzling new talent, and the start of a new series featuring Detective Chief Inspector Jonah Sheens.








Exciting Investigative Thriller!!    5-stars


I adore a good thriller; this is a fantastic new series with a diligent team of detectives and I’m looking forward to reading much more about them!

Thirty years ago, Aurora Jackson goes missing after being invited along to a party with her sister and her sister’s friends. For thirty long years they all hoped that one day she would turn up but with the discovery of a body, it becomes a murder investigation with local cop, DCI Jonah Sheens and his team taking charge.

This is compulsive reading, and one I found myself thinking about when I wasn’t actually reading it. Full marks to the author for the way the team deal with the investigation: they work resolutely, sometimes following gut instinct but always – always – following up with solid facts. I began by suspecting no-one and ended with suspecting EVERYONE!

Skilfully crafted and beautifully written, this is the first novel by Gytha Lodge which I have come across. However, it most definitely won’t be the last, and I really hope she’s already working on the next one in this series as I cannot wait!

My thanks to publisher Michael Joseph – Penguin UK for my copy via NetGalley. This is my honest, original and unbiased review.


Tags: crime thriller, police procedural
  • Format: ebook, hardcover, audio
  • Size: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • Publication Date: 10 January 2019
  • Purchase Links: GooglePlay
  •                               Barnes & Noble
  •                               Kobo
  •                               Waterstones
  •                               kindle




Meet the Author


71yhxh4r-wl._ux250_Gytha Lodge is a multi-award-winning playwright, novelist and writer for video games and screen. She is also a single parent who blogs about the ridiculousness of bringing up a mega-nerd small boy.

She has a profound addiction to tea, crosswords and awful puns. When not writing, she heads up a copywriting team at a global translation firm, where she generally tries to keep all the video-game writing to herself.

She studied English at Cambridge, where she became known quite quickly for her brand of twisty, dark yet entertaining drama. She later took the Creative Writing MA at UEA.

She has signed with Penguin Random House worldwide for the first three books in her crime series featuring DCI Jonah Sheens. She Lies in Wait will be released in January 2019



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s