The Foyles Bookshop Girls

Written by Elaine Roberts

 

250.red

 

London, 1914: one ordinary day, three girls arrive for work at London’s renowned Foyles bookshop. But when war with Germany is declared their lives will never be the same again…

Alice has always been the ‘sensible’ one in her family – especially in comparison with her suffrage-supporting sister! But decidedly against her father’s wishes, she accepts a job at Foyles Bookshop; and for bookworm Alice it’s a dream come true.

But with the country at war, Alice’s happy world is shattered in an instant. Determined to do what she can, Alice works in the bookshop by day, and risks her own life driving an ambulance around bomb-ravaged London by night. But however busy she keeps herself, she can’t help but think of the constant danger those she loves are facing on the frontline…

Alice, Victoria and Molly couldn’t be more different and yet they share a friendship that stems back to their childhood – a friendship that provides everyday solace from the tribulations and heartbreak of war. Perfect for fans of Elaine Everest, Daisy Styles and Rosie Hendry.

Look out for the next book in the series, The Foyles Bookshop Girls at War.

 

images

 

Brimming with Details .. Five Glittering Stars!  5 stars

 

This is such a lovely read; true to the period it’s set in, very addictive and the best news of all – it’s the beginning of a series!

Alice and her two friends, Molly and Victoria, all work in Foyles Bookshop. With strong rumours of war, they all wonder what the future holds. The girls are firm friends, but each have very different home lives. Alice is a sensible daughter with three siblings – two brothers and a suffragist sister who is forever in trouble with their father for not being as well-behaved as Alice. Their father is quite old-fashioned in his treatment of daughters as opposed to sons, and it can make for a volatile environment at home. This story has Alice as the main protagonist; she is at the centre of everything which happens. With the declaration of war, life changes and women go from being the protected wives and daughters to ‘doing their bit’, rising in the estimation of some – but not all – men.

This is a novel brimming with details, and which bookworm wouldn’t love to hear about a busy bookshop a century ago? It clearly shows the importance of all the little things which ordinary people contributed to the war at home and how hard life was for most. There is nothing I could criticise; skilfully crafted characters and an exquisite storyline all kept my attention from the first page to the last. I am so looking forward to the second book coming out early next year and finding out how life goes for all the people who now seem so real to me. Highly recommended and five glittering stars!

My thanks to publishers Aria for approving my request via NetGalley. This is my honest, original and unbiased review.

 

Tags: family, friendship, WWI

 

 

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 4298 KB
  • Print Length: 295 pages
  • Publisher: Aria
  • Publication Date: 1 June 2018
  • Purchase Links: Amazon.co.uk
  •                                 Amazon.com

 

250.red

 

Meet the Author

 

71FHIsuEutL._UX250_Elaine Roberts had a dream to write for a living. She completed her first novel in her twenties and received her first very nice rejection. Life then got in the way until circumstances made her re-evaluate her life, and she picked up her dream again in 2010. She joined a creative writing class, The Write Place, in 2012 and shortly afterwards had her first short story published. She was thrilled when many more followed and started to believe in herself.

As a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association and The Society of Women Writers & Journalists, Elaine attends many conferences, workshops, seminars and wonderful parties. Meeting other writers gives her encouragement, finding most face similar problems.

Elaine and her patient husband, Dave, have five children who have flown the nest. Home is in Dartford, Kent and is always busy with their children, grandchildren, grand dogs and cats visiting. Without her wonderful family and supportive friends, she knows the dream would never have been realised.

 

250.red

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s