The Betrayal

Written by Anne Allen


Book Six of The Guernsey Novels is another dual-time story set during the German Occupation and present-day Guernsey and is likely to appeal particularly to fans of the book The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

Treachery and theft lead to death – and love

1940. Teresa Bichard and her baby are sent by her beloved husband, Leo, to England as the Germans draw closer to Guernsey. Days later they invade…

1942. Leo, of Jewish descent, is betrayed to the Germans and is sent to a concentration camp, never to return.

1945. Teresa returns to find Leo did not survive and the family’s valuable art collection, including a Renoir, is missing. Heartbroken, she returns to England.

2011. Nigel and his twin Fiona, buy a long-established antique shop in Guernsey and during a refit, find a hidden stash of paintings, including what appears to be a Renoir. Days later, Fiona finds Nigel dead, an apparent suicide. Refusing to accept the verdict, a distraught Fiona employs a detective to help her discover the truth

Searching for the rightful owner of the painting brings Fiona close to someone who opens a chink in her broken heart. Can she answer some crucial questions before laying her brother’s ghost to rest?

Who betrayed Leo?

Who knew about the stolen Renoir?

And are they prepared to kill – again?




Pleasant, Easy-Going Read!  4 stars


The Guernsey Novels, to my eternal shame, is yet another series which I’ve always intended to read but somehow can never find the space in my tbr. So you have no idea how thrilled I was to realise that it was made up of stand-alones meaning I could start with book six and a clear conscience!

Beginning in Guernsey in 1940, the horrors of war are immediately brought to bear with Leo seeing his wife and child off on a boat to England, evacuating them to safety before the expected invasion of the island by German Troops. Planning for this, antique dealer Leo takes steps to secretly store the family treasures in the hope of keeping them safe from looting enemy hands. Jumping to 2011, present day owners, twin sister and brother Fiona and Nigel, come across a hoard of artwork hidden away on their premises. Soon after, Nigel’s body is found hanging dead in the antique store.

Told from the dual aspect of 2011 and the time of the German occupation of the Channel Islands during WWII, this is a mystery, two family dramas, a hint of romance and a touch of the afterlife all rolled together into one very pleasant read. With plenty going on and lots of detail, this is a story which kept my attention right to the final page. A straightforward and engaging read, and a rather enjoyable one too. I hope this bodes well for the rest of the series being as easy-going and satisfying, and I’ve already added them all to my wish-list.

My thanks to Anna-Lisa Hasedzic of the Globeflower Agency for providing my copy. This is my honest, original and unbiased review.


Tags: mystery, romantic suspense, WWII


  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 863 KB
  • Print Length: 310 pages
  • Publisher: Sarnia Press
  • Publication Date: 20 October 2017
  • Link to Buy:


Meet the Author


71cUSplwdxL._UX250_.jpgAnne was born in Rugby to a Welsh father and an English mother. As a result, she spent many summers with her Welsh grandparents in Anglesey and learned to love the sea. Now she is based in Devon to be near her daughter and two small grandchildren. Her restless spirit has meant many moves, the longest stay being in Guernsey for nearly fourteen years after falling in love with the island and the people. She contrived to leave one son behind to ensure a valid reason for frequent returns. Her younger son is based in London – ideal for city breaks ☺

By profession, Anne was a psychotherapist who long had a desire to write and Dangerous Waters, her first novel, was published in 2012. It was awarded Silver(Adult Fiction) in TheWishingShelfAwards 2012. Since then she has published three more books in The Guernsey Novels series; Finding Mother, Guernsey Retreat, The Family Divided, and Echoes of Time; winner of The Diamond Book Award 2017, a finalist in Readersfavorite awards and granted a ChillWithABookAward. Book 6, The Betrayal, was published October 2017.
To find out more about Anne visit her website –
You can also find her on Twitter – @AnneAllen21


2 thoughts on “The Betrayal

  1. Hi Grace, thank you very much for taking part in the blog tour for Anne Allen. We really appreciate it.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s