This Was A Man

Written by Jeffrey Archer


shadow heart


This Was a Man is the seventh and final, captivating instalment of the Clifton Chronicles from master storyteller Jeffrey Archer.


This Was a Man opens with a shot being fired, but who pulled the trigger, and who lives and who dies?

In Whitehall, Giles Barrington discovers the truth about his wife Karin from the Cabinet Secretary. Is she a spy or a pawn in a larger game?

Harry Clifton sets out to write his magnum opus, while his wife Emma completes her ten years as Chairman of the Bristol Royal Infirmary, and receives an unexpected call from Margaret Thatcher offering her a job.

Sebastian Clifton becomes chairman of Farthings Kaufman bank after Hakim Bishara resigns for personal reasons. Sebastian and his wife Samantha’s talented daughter, Jessica, is expelled from the Slade School of Fine Art, but her aunt Grace comes to her rescue.

Lady Virginia is about to flee the country to avoid her creditors when the Duchess of Hertford dies, and sees another opportunity to clear her debts and finally trump the Cliftons and the Barringtons.

In a devastating twist, tragedy engulfs the Clifton family when one of them receives a shocking diagnosis that will throw all their lives into turmoil.




The Clifton Chronicles


  1. Only Time Will Tell                     ..
  2. The Sins of the Father                ..
  3. Best Kept Secret                           ..
  4. Be Careful What You Wish For ..
  5. Mightier Than The Sword          ..
  6. Cometh The Hour                        ..
  7. This Was A Man                           ..



shadow heart



A Fitting Finale to a Fantastic Series!    225


Jeffrey Archer is referred to as a ‘master storyteller’ and never has a title been more apt. His novels are exceedingly well researched, always correct in detail and a total delight to read!

This, the seventh book in The Clifton Chronicles, brings this saga to it’s final conclusion whilst maintaining the high standards set in the previous novels. With the series spanning seven decades, this book – as with it’s predecessors – continues from where the one before left off. Following the fortunes of the Clifton and Barrington families has been both thrilling and exciting .. they are not perfect individuals but they hold themselves to exacting standards and each work hard in their chosen profession with an unfailing sense of fairness. With their politics split between the two main British parties, the interactions between Emma and her brother Giles are extremely entertaining and no other author I have come across writes about politics quite as well as this one.

Since reading Kane and Abel many more years ago than I care to remember, Jeffrey Archer’s books have had a firm place on my shelves, but with The Clifton Chronicles he has exceeded all my expectations – and they were pretty high to begin with! I purchased this book when first published and have hung on to it, not really wanting the series to come to an end. What a fabulous treat it has been, and I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending these novels – or indeed this author’s full catalogue – to anyone who likes to immerse themselves in a well-spun tale.

This is my honest, original, and unbiased review.


Tags: family saga


  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1680 KB
  • Print Length: 403 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1250061636
  • Publisher: Macmillan
  • Publication Date: 3 November 2016
  • Link to Buy:


shadow heart


Meet the Author

71Rv6FEh24L._SY200_Jeffrey Archer has topped the bestseller lists around the world, with sales of over 275 million copies in 97 countries and more than 37 languages. He is the only author ever to have been a number one bestseller in fiction (nineteen times), short stories (four times) and non-fiction (The Prison Diaries).

Jeffrey served five years as a Member of Parliament in the House of Commons and has served twenty-five years as a Member of the House of Lords.

His latest novel THIS WAS A MAN, the final volume in a seven-book saga called The Clifton Chronicles. was published in hardback in November 2016, and went to #1 in the UK, India, Australia, New Zealand and South Africa, and is out in Paperback in May 2017. The penultimate book in the series, COMETH THE HOUR which came out in March 2016, also went to #1 around world, including on the New York Times Besteller List.

Jeffrey is also an art collector, sports lover, and amateur auctioneer, conducting around 30 charity auctions a year.


shadow heart






Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s